A Collaborative National Center for Fusion & Plasma Research

Lab Leadership

Laboratory Director

Steven Cowley, a theoretical physicist and international authority on fusion energy, became the seventh Director of the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory (PPPL) on July 1, 2018 and will be Princeton professor of astrophysical sciences on September 1, 2018. Most recently president of Corpus Christi College and professor of physics at the University of Oxford in the United Kingdom since 2016, Cowley previously was chief executive officer of the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority (UKAEA) and head of the Culham Centre for Fusion Energy.

Associate Director for Fusion

Richard Hawryluk, Associate Director for Fusion, is an internationally-known physicist and a former deputy director of PPPL. He served as the head of the National Spherical Torus Experiment-Upgrade (NSTX-U) Recovery Planning Project from 2016 through August of 2017.  He served as interim director of the Laboratory from September 2017 through June 2018. 

Deputy Director of Operations and Chief Operating Officer

Terry Brog is deputy director of operations and chief operating officer of PPPL, a position he assumed in June of 2016. He served as interim director of the Laboratory from September of 2016 through August of 2017. Before joining PPPL, Brog was manager of the Strategic Projects Division for the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL). He was previously chief operations officer for PNNL’s Energy and Environment Directorate.

Deputy Director for Research

Michael Zarnstorff has been deputy director of research at PPPL since 2009 and a physicist at PPPL since 1984.  As deputy director, he oversees physics experiments at PPPL and collaborations on fusion experiments around the world.  Zarnstorff graduated from the University of Wisconsin with a Ph.D. in physics in 1984.

Chief Planning Officer

Stacia Zelick was named Chief Planning Officer of Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory in October 2017. She is responsible for strategic planning and serves as the Laboratory’s senior staff leader of managerial processes for institutional planning, performance and process improvement, contract requirements, corrective actions, contractor assurance, and technology transfer.

U.S. Department of Energy
Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory is a U.S. Department of Energy national laboratory managed by Princeton University.

Website suggestions and feedback

Google+ · Pinterest · Instagram · Flipboard

PPPL is ISO-14001 certified

Princeton University Institutional Compliance Program

Privacy Policy

© 2018 Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory. All rights reserved.

Princeton University
Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
P.O. Box 451
Princeton, NJ 08543-0451
GPS: 100 Stellarator Road
Princeton, NJ, 08540
(609) 243-2000