A Collaborative National Center for Fusion & Plasma Research
April 17, 2014,
4:00pm to 5:30pm

MBG Auditorium

CANCELLED - COLLOQUIUM: Toward Diversity in Flatland: Controlled Synthesis of 2D Alloys & Heterostructures

Dr. Peter Sutter
Brookhaven National Laboratory


The ability to tailor materials properties by alloying or in heterostructures with controlled interfaces has become one of the foundations of modern materials science. Two-dimensional (2D) crystals, such as graphene, hexagonal boron nitride, and a family of metal dichalcogenides represent a new class of systems that offer unique opportunities for materials integration. Mixed phases (‘alloys’) of different 2D crystals promise widely tunable electronic structure, chemical reactivity, and mechanical properties. Heterostructures that combine different 2D materials in arbitrary layer sequences or as several tightly interfaced components in a single, atomically thin membrane offer extended functionality by exploiting interfacial phenomena, quantum confinement, and tunneling and raise fundamental questions on interface formation, alloying, strain, polarity, etc., in a new context at reduced dimensionality.

I will discuss recent advances in developing the synthesis and processing of alloys and heterostructures of 2D materials on metal substrates, derived primarily from real-time observations by surface electron microscopy, complemented by high-resolution scanning probe microscopy and in-situ spectroscopy. Focusing on the integration of graphene with hexagonal boron nitride, I will highlight progress toward meeting key challenges in the controlled formation of 2D alloys and heterostructures: the continuous blending of immiscible 2D systems; precise thickness and stacking control in superlattices; and the creation of monolayer heterostructures with nanoscale characteristic dimensions and atomically sharp line interfaces. Our combined findings establish a powerful toolset for the scalable fabrication of 2D alloys and heterostructures for research and applications.

Colloquium Committee: 

The Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory 2019-2020 Colloquium Committee is comprised of the following people. Please feel free to contact them by e-mail regarding any possible speakers or topics for future colloquia.

Carol Ann Austin, caustin@pppl.gov
Marc-Andre DeLooz, mdelooz@pppl.gov
Erik Gilson, egilson@pppl.gov
Jessica Ilagan, jilagan@pppl.gov
Igor Kaganovich, ikaganov@pppl.gov

  • Carol Ann Austin 609-243-2484

U.S. Department of Energy
Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory is a U.S. Department of Energy national laboratory managed by Princeton University.

Website suggestions and feedback

Pinterest · Instagram · LinkedIn · Tumblr.

PPPL is ISO-14001 certified

Princeton University Institutional Compliance Program

Privacy Policy · Sign In (for staff)

© 2020 Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory. All rights reserved.

Princeton University
Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
P.O. Box 451
Princeton, NJ 08543-0451
GPS: 100 Stellarator Road
Princeton, NJ, 08540
(609) 243-2000