A Collaborative National Center for Fusion & Plasma Research
December 5, 2012, 4:15pm to 5:30pm

MSG Auditorium

"Adiabatic Quantum Computing with the D-Wave One"

Professor Robert F. Lucas
University of Southern California
Dr. Federico Spedalieri
University of Southern California

The USC-Lockheed Martin Quantum Computing Center has taken delivery of a D-Wave One adiabatic quantum computer. In this talk, we will report on our experience assessing the quantum mechanical behavior of the device and benchmarking its performance. We will present experimental results that strongly indicate that quantum annealing is indeed being performed by D-Wave One, and show how the device performs when compared to classical computers on a particular optimization problem. We will also discuss a proposal to experimentally show the presence of entanglement that is being developed in collaboration with D-Wave. We will also report briefly on early work to find applications for the D-Wave One, and other challenges to broad use of this new technology.

Colloquium Committee: 

The Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory 2019-2020 Colloquium Committee is comprised of the following people. Please feel free to contact them by e-mail regarding any possible speakers or topics for future colloquia.

Carol Ann Austin, caustin@pppl.gov
Marc-Andre DeLooz, mdelooz@pppl.gov
Erik Gilson, egilson@pppl.gov
Jessica Ilagan, jilagan@pppl.gov
Igor Kaganovich, ikaganov@pppl.gov

  • Carol Ann Austin 609-243-2484

U.S. Department of Energy
Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory is a U.S. Department of Energy national laboratory managed by Princeton University.

Website suggestions and feedback

Pinterest · Instagram · LinkedIn · Tumblr.

PPPL is ISO-14001 certified

Princeton University Institutional Compliance Program

Privacy Policy · Sign In (for staff)

© 2021 Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory. All rights reserved.

Princeton University
Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
P.O. Box 451
Princeton, NJ 08543-0451
GPS: 100 Stellarator Road
Princeton, NJ, 08540
(609) 243-2000