A Collaborative National Center for Fusion & Plasma Research

Ronald C Davidson

Professor of Astrophysical Sciences, Emeritus. Senior Astrophysicist

Ronald Davidson heads PPPL research on charged particle beam dynamics and has made numerous fundamental theoretical contributions to pure and applied plasma physics. Professor Davidson served as director of PPPL from 1991 to 1996 and as director of the MIT Plasma Fusion Center from 1978 to 1988, and has written more than 450 journal articles and books. He has chaired the American Physical Society's Division of Plasma Physics and Division of Particle Beams, and has participated in numerous national and international advisory and review committees on plasma physics and fusion research. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and has received honors that include the U.S. Department of Energy’s Distinguished Associate Award, the Kaul Foundation Prize for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research, the IEEE Particle Accelerator Science and Technology Award, and the American Physical Society James Clerk Maxwell Prize in Plasma Physics.


  • Nonneutral plasmas
  • Nonlinear effects and anomalous transport
  • Kinetic equilibrium and stability properties
  • Intense charged particle beams
  • Advanced accelerator concepts and coherent radiation generation by relativistic electrons

U.S. Department of Energy
Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory is a U.S. Department of Energy national laboratory managed by Princeton University.

Website suggestions and feedback

Google+ · Pinterest · Instagram

PPPL is ISO-14001 certified

Princeton University Institutional Compliance Program

© 2016 Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory. All rights reserved.

Princeton University
Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
P.O. Box 451
Princeton, NJ 08543-0451
GPS: 100 Stellarator Road
Princeton, NJ, 08540
(609) 243-2000