A Collaborative National Center for Fusion & Plasma Research

Richard J Hawryluk

Head, ITER and Tokamaks, ITER and Tokamaks

Richard Hawryluk is a physicist who currently heads the National Spherical Torus Experiment-Upgrade (NSTX-U) Recovery Project. Hawryluk has been at PPPL since 1974. He was head of the Tokamak Fusion Test Reactor from 1991–1997. He has won numerous awards, including the American Physical Society Prize for Excellence in Plasma Physics, Department of Energy Distinguished Associate, and a Fusion Power Associates Leadership Award. He was deputy director general for the Administration Department of ITER from 2011–2013 after serving as deputy director of PPPL from 1997–2008 and then Head of the ITER and Tokamaks Department from 2009–2011.  He resumed his position as head of the ITER and Tokamaks department from 2013–2016. Hawryluk has been a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science since 2008 and of the American Physical Society since 1986. He was recently named chair of the board of editors of Nuclear Fusion, the leading
monthly journal in the eld of controlled fusion energy.

U.S. Department of Energy
Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory is a U.S. Department of Energy national laboratory managed by Princeton University.

Website suggestions and feedback

Google+ · Pinterest · Instagram · Flipboard

PPPL is ISO-14001 certified

Princeton University Institutional Compliance Program

Privacy Policy

© 2017 Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory. All rights reserved.

Princeton University
Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
P.O. Box 451
Princeton, NJ 08543-0451
GPS: 100 Stellarator Road
Princeton, NJ, 08540
(609) 243-2000